Print Purchased by Renowned Playwright Octavio Solis

23 Jun

Earlier this month, I participated in Intersection for the Arts’ annual auction/fundraiser/birthday party. Intersection for the Arts is a non-profit Art Center in the Mission District of San Francisco that provides resources to up-and-coming as well as established artists, writers, actors, musicians and dancers. Every year, Intersection organizes an art auction in order to raise much-needed funding for its wonderful programs, exhibitions, performances and workshops. This year’s participants included Kim Abeles, Binh Danh and Audrey Kawasaki, among others.

I submitted the piece to the left, Mekimo (Mexico) a linocut on Tan Rives BFK. It is a picture of me on the beach in Baja California when I was about 4 years old, surrounded by fish, turtles, mermaids and sailboats. The sun/moon, which represents the passage of time or my impending maturity, and all of nature form an almost protective cloak around me.

Retail value of Mekimo was listed at $300 but I was able to sell it-before the actual auction–for $400! My new collector is renowned Chicano poet Octavio Solis! Mr. Solis has written La Posada Magica, Gibraltar and The Ballad of Pancho and Lucy.

This purchase marks the first sale of my work outside of Los Angeles, but it is not the first time my work is collected by someone who shapes cultural product. In 2005, a print of mine was purchased at the KIWA annual fundraising auction by Sonali Kolhatkar, journalist and the producer of KPFK’s Uprising. It is an honor to have my work collected by people who’s own work I respect.

For more info on Intersection for the Arts, and to see photos of the Auction, go to: http://www.theintersection.org

 

Leave a Reply

